The heart of the Christian community is our Triune Lord: Father, Son, Holy Spirit. Geography, history, and numbers are not the heart, but probably I will type mostly on these topics. As the internet already provides many encouraging spiritual guides and discouraging contentious forums, I intend to offer neither.
To find a parish, enter a keyword in the search box at the top left, or look through the labels and links down the right-hand column. The posts themselves follow the Blogger format of newest items on top.

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Oyster Bay deanery

The diocese of Rockville Centre has grouped the parishes of Nassau County into seven deaneries.  The Oyster Bay deanery includes the following eleven parishes, listed in order of foundation:
1856 -- St. Patrick, Glen Cove
1871 -- St. Mary, Roslyn
1894 -- St. Dominic, Oyster Bay
1898 -- St. Boniface Martyr, Sea Cliff
1909 -- St. Hyacinth, Glen Head
1937 -- St. Rocco, Glen Cove
1952 -- St. Edward Confessor, Syosset
1955 -- St. Pius X, Plainview
1959 -- St. Gertrude, Bayville
1962 -- Holy Name of Jesus, Woodbury
1962 -- St. Paul the Apostle, Brookville
Five of the above parishes (St. Patrick, St. Rocco, St. Boniface Martyr, St. Hyacinth, and St. Mary, Roslyn) sponsor All Saints Regional Catholic elementary school.  St. Dominic parish offers both an elementary school and a high school.   St. Edward's parish elementary school is linked here.  St. Pius X supports St. John Baptist de La Salle Regional Catholic Elementary School in Farmingdale, but the diocese has announced the closure of this school in June, 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment