The heart of the Christian community is our Triune Lord: Father, Son, Holy Spirit. Geography, history, and numbers are not the heart, but probably I will type mostly on these topics. As the internet already provides many encouraging spiritual guides and discouraging contentious forums, I intend to offer neither.
To find a parish, enter a keyword in the search box at the top left, or look through the labels and links down the right-hand column. The posts themselves follow the Blogger format of newest items on top.

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Rockville Centre deanery

The diocese of Rockville Centre has grouped the parishes of Nassau County into seven deaneries.  The deanery of Rockville Centre includes the following nine parishes, listed in order of foundation:
1870 -- Our Lady of Loretto, Hempstead
1894 -- St. Agnes Cathedral, Rockville Centre
1901 -- St. Joseph, Garden City
1903 -- Holy Redeemer, Freeport
1915 -- St. Christopher, Baldwin
1915 -- St. Ladislaus, Hempstead
1919 -- Queen of the Most Holy Rosary, Roosevelt
1931 -- St. Thomas the Apostle, West Hempstead
1949 -- St. Martha, Uniondale
Four of these parishes provide elementary schools: St. Agnes Cathedral School (with 800+ students, the largest elementary school in the diocese), St. Joseph (Garden City), St. Christopher School (Baldwin), and St. Thomas the Apostle School (West Hempstead).  At St. Martha's parish, the Marianist Brothers administer St. Martin de Porres School.  At Holy Redeemer parish, the De La Salle Christian Brothers administer De La Salle School (Freeport).

No comments:

Post a Comment