The heart of the Christian community is our Triune Lord: Father, Son, Holy Spirit. Geography, history, and numbers are not the heart, but probably I will type mostly on these topics. As the internet already provides many encouraging spiritual guides and discouraging contentious forums, I intend to offer neither.
To find a parish, enter a keyword in the search box at the top left, or look through the labels and links down the right-hand column. The posts themselves follow the Blogger format of newest items on top.

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Hicksville deanery

The Diocese of Rockville Centre has seven deaneries in Nassau County.  The Hicksville deanery includes the following parishes, in order of foundation: 
1850 -- St. Brigid, Westbury
1859 -- St. Ignatius Loyola, Hicksville
1896 -- St. Kilian, Farmingdale
1923 -- St. Martin of Tours, Bethpage
1941 -- St. Raphael, East Meadow
1948 -- St. Bernard, Levittown
1951 -- St. James, Seaford
1951 -- Holy Family, Hicksville
1953 -- Our Lady of Mercy, Hicksville
1987 -- Our Lady of Hope, Carle Place
The regional Catholic elementary school St. John Baptist de la Salle, located at St. Kilian's parish, is supported by St. Martin, St. James, St. Kilian and St. Pius X parishes.  The regional Catholic elementary school St. Brigid/Our Lady of Hope, Westbury, is supported by those two parishes.  In Hicksville, there are three parish elementary schools: St. Ignatius Loyola, Holy Family, and Our Lady of Mercy.

No comments:

Post a Comment