The heart of the Christian community is our Triune Lord: Father, Son, Holy Spirit. Geography, history, and numbers are not the heart, but probably I will type mostly on these topics. As the internet already provides many encouraging spiritual guides and discouraging contentious forums, I intend to offer neither.
To find a parish, enter a keyword in the search box at the top left, or look through the labels and links down the right-hand column. The posts themselves follow the Blogger format of newest items on top.

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Five Towns deanery

In the diocese of Rockville Centre, the Five Towns Deanery includes nine parishes, that is, more of southwest Nassau County than the fabled "Five Towns," Hewlett, Woodmere, Cedarhurst, Lawrence, and Inwood. In order of establishment these parishes are:
1872 - St. Joseph, Hewlett.  The April 13, 2011, Long Island Catholic includes an important article, "Five Towns parishes to enter new era for collaboration."  The bishop announced plans for the pastor of St. Joseph parish to become in the future also the administrator of St. Joachim and Our Lady of Good Counsel.  Three parishes will remain, but the priest(s) will live in one.  The article did not tell the number of Catholics enrolled in each parish.  None of the three has a school. 
1894 - St. Joachim, Cedarhurst
1909 - St. Raymond of Penyafort, East Rockaway
1910 - Our Lady of Good Counsel, Inwood.  See also this article in Five Towns Patch about the centennial.  About twenty photos are linked here.
1915 - St. Mary of the Isle, Long Beach
1926 - St. Ignatius Martyr, Long Beach
1927 - St. Anthony, Oceanside
1937 - Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal, Point Lookout
1938 - Sacred Heart, Island Park
The above nine parishes comprise the Five Towns deanery, which has two Catholic elementary schools.  St. Raymond's has a parish school, and the three parishes of Long Beach and Point Lookout sponsor Long Beach Catholic Regional School at St. Ignatius Martyr.

No comments:

Post a Comment